FDA Warns After Endotoxin-Consistent Reactions Reported in at Least 30 Patients Given Compounded IV Glutathione
post on 02 Sept 2026
post on 02 Sept 2026
https://medicaltoxic.com/news/fda-compounded-glutathione-endotoxin-alert

FDA Warns After Endotoxin-Consistent Reactions Reported in at Least 30 Patients Given Compounded IV Glutathione
FDA traced glutathione used by different compounding pharmacies to Medisca Lot #229536, a dietary-supplement-grade ingredient the agency says was inappropriate for injectable drug compounding.
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration is investigating adverse events reported in at least 30 patients who received intravenous glutathione alone or in combination with other ingredients, after the agency identified a shared ingredient source across different compounding pharmacies.
In an August 27, 2026 Compounding Risk Alert, FDA said the pharmacies involved had obtained glutathione Lot #229536 from Medisca Inc. The material was labeled as dietary supplement grade, which FDA says is not an appropriate ingredient for making injectable drugs. [1]
Reported reactions included fever, chills, pain, dizziness, signs of shock, and sepsis-like symptoms, with some patients hospitalized. FDA says these manifestations are consistent with exposure to excessive endotoxin levels and that it continues to receive reports while actively investigating. [1]
The central safety issue is therefore not that glutathione itself has suddenly been shown to be broadly toxic. The more specific concern is a compounded injectable quality failure in which dietary-supplement-grade material entered the parenteral supply chain, creating the potential for clinically significant endotoxin exposure.
FDA's alert significantly broadens the context established by two earlier August recalls.
Rather than describing an isolated finished-product problem at a single pharmacy, FDA now says different compounding pharmacies used glutathione originating from the same Medisca ingredient lot.
That distinction is important because Lot #229536 is the upstream glutathione ingredient lot, not simply a finished-vial lot number from one dispensing pharmacy.
According to FDA, the glutathione had been labeled dietary supplement grade. FDA states that compounders should not use dietary-supplement-grade ingredients to make injectable drugs because such ingredients may contain impurities and contaminants—including endotoxins—that may be harmful when administered parenterally. [1]
FDA also says Medisca informed the agency on August 20 that it had warned its U.S. customers not to use the dietary-supplement-grade glutathione for compounding injectable drugs. [1]
The agency is now urging compounders that received dietary-supplement-grade glutathione from Medisca to contact their customers and instruct them to discontinue use of the resulting IV glutathione product. [1]
Two Texas pharmacies had already recalled compounded glutathione products because testing identified elevated bacterial endotoxin levels before FDA published the broader August 27 alert.
On August 5, FDA posted a voluntary patient-level recall from Victory Medical Center Pharmacy covering three lots of Compounded Glutathione 200 mg/mL Multi-Dose Vials:
Lot 1980571
Lot 1981940
Lot 1984345
The pharmacy reported that testing identified elevated bacterial endotoxin levels. It also reported adverse events including fever, chills, severe headache, nausea, vomiting, tachycardia, blood-pressure changes, body aches, and injection-site reactions. The affected product had been distributed to consumers in Texas, Florida, and New York. [2]
FDA then published a second recall on August 20 involving Optimal Balance Pharmacy Compounded Glutathione Injection 200 mg/mL, lot LG342009076.
The pharmacy said testing found elevated bacterial endotoxin levels and reported adverse events including fever, chills, severe headache, nausea, vomiting, pain, and symptoms consistent with an allergic reaction. The recalled product had been distributed to patients across multiple states. [3]
Both recalls instructed patients with affected product to stop using it and quarantine it while arrangements were made for retrieval and proper disposition. [2] [3]
The two recalls initially appeared to be separate pharmacy-level events.
FDA's August 27 alert connects the problem upstream in the ingredient supply chain.
The agency states that different compounding pharmacies associated with the adverse-event reports all obtained glutathione Lot #229536 from Medisca. [1]
That changes the safety question.
Instead of asking only whether a patient received a particular finished lot from Victory Medical Center Pharmacy or Optimal Balance Pharmacy, clinicians and compounders now also need to consider where the glutathione ingredient itself came from.
FDA specifically recommends that healthcare professionals check with their compounders regarding the source of glutathione used to make injectable drugs for their patients. [1]
This supply-chain perspective is the genuinely new information in the August 27 action.
The route of administration fundamentally changes the safety requirements for an ingredient.
FDA says ingredients used to produce injectable drugs should be manufactured under conditions and specifications appropriate for their intended route of administration. Dietary-supplement-grade ingredients should not be assumed to meet those requirements merely because the chemical name of the ingredient is the same. [1]
FDA specifically warns that ingredients labeled for dietary-supplement use may contain impurities or contaminants, including endotoxins, that can be harmful when injected.
The agency also cautions compounders not to rely on end-product testing alone. Quality, FDA says, needs to be built into ingredient sourcing, stock-solution preparation, and finished-drug release. [1]
The distinction is particularly important for sterile compounding because an ingredient appropriate for oral or dietary use is not automatically appropriate for direct introduction into the bloodstream.
MedicalToxic discusses a different but related category of compounded-injectable safety failures in GLP-1 Overdose and Dosing Errors: Why Poison Control Calls Are Rising. In that setting, concentration variability and dosing errors are the concern; in the current glutathione alert, the primary problem is ingredient suitability and product quality rather than dose calculation.
FDA reports that patients in the current investigation experienced fever, chills, pain, dizziness, signs of shock, and sepsis-like symptoms. Some required hospitalization. [1]
The agency says those reported manifestations are consistent with exposure to excessive endotoxin levels.
FDA separately notes that endotoxin exposure can cause myalgia, headache, nausea, vomiting, hypotension, shock, and death, but it explicitly cautions that not all of those manifestations have been reported in association with the current glutathione adverse events. [1]
That distinction matters.
The August 27 alert does not report a death among the at least 30 patients. Death appears in FDA's description of the potential consequences of excessive endotoxin exposure, not as a reported outcome in this current patient group.
Likewise, FDA's wording of “sepsis-like symptoms” should not be converted into microbiologically confirmed sepsis. The public alert does not state that every patient had bloodstream infection, nor does it establish that endotoxin was definitively responsible for every reported symptom.
The appropriate framing is that FDA is investigating reports whose clinical manifestations are consistent with excessive endotoxin exposure.
The scope of the alert should remain narrow.
FDA has not announced a ban on glutathione.
The agency also has not stated that all compounded glutathione products are contaminated or that every patient receiving IV glutathione is at risk from the same ingredient lot.
The current investigation concerns adverse-event reports involving IV glutathione compounded by different pharmacies that obtained glutathione from Medisca Lot #229536, together with the broader warning not to use dietary-supplement-grade ingredients for injectable drug compounding. [1]
That is a substantially different claim from saying “glutathione is toxic.”
The concern about inappropriate glutathione ingredients entering sterile compounding is not entirely new.
In 2019, FDA issued a separate compounding alert after patients experienced adverse events following injectable glutathione prepared from material intended for dietary-supplement use.
During that earlier investigation, FDA laboratory testing found excessive bacterial endotoxin in glutathione powder samples, and the agency concluded that the ingredient should not have been used to compound sterile injectable drugs. [4]
The 2019 event involved different ingredient lots and should not be merged with the current investigation.
Its relevance is that FDA had previously warned the compounding community about the same fundamental safety principle: ingredient suitability for dietary use does not establish suitability for sterile injection.
FDA's current Compounding Risk Alerts index again lists the August 27, 2026 glutathione warning as its latest compounding risk alert and retains the June 2019 glutathione alert in the historical record.
For clinicians caring for a patient who has received compounded IV glutathione, the FDA alert makes the source of the compounded preparation clinically relevant.
FDA recommends that healthcare professionals check with compounders to determine the source of the glutathione used in injectable drugs. [1]
Clinicians evaluating an unexpected systemic reaction after an infusion should also obtain the product name, compounding pharmacy, finished-drug lot information when available, infusion date, and ingredient-source information.
Because compounded products can create uncertainty about the actual exposure, poison-center consultation may be useful in selected cases. MedicalToxic explains the broader role of these services in The Role of Poison Center Calls: Managing Poisoning Cases from Emergency Calls to Critical Decisions.
The current article intentionally stops short of providing a sepsis-versus-endotoxin diagnostic algorithm or shock-management protocol. Those decisions require patient-specific clinical assessment and go beyond the scope of FDA's safety communication.
FDA places several responsibilities directly on compounders and ingredient suppliers.
Compounders should ensure that all components used in injectable drugs are appropriate for the intended use and should not use dietary-supplement-grade ingredients to make injectable products. [1]
FDA also urges compounders to know their bulk-drug-substance, active-pharmaceutical-ingredient, and excipient suppliers and to verify that ingredients used in injections are manufactured under appropriate conditions and specifications.
For API suppliers, relabelers, and repackagers, FDA recommends clearly identifying the upstream manufacturer on product labels and certificates of analysis and explicitly stating appropriate and inappropriate uses for the ingredient. [1]
Compounders that received dietary-supplement-grade glutathione from Medisca are being urged to contact customers and instruct them to discontinue use of the resulting IV glutathione product.
FDA also encourages consumers, clinicians, and compounders to report adverse events or product-quality problems involving compounded drugs through MedWatch. [1]
The August 27 alert adds three important pieces of information that were not apparent from either pharmacy recall alone.
First, FDA says reports now involve at least 30 patients who received IV glutathione alone or with other ingredients. [1]
Second, the agency says different compounding pharmacies were involved.
Third, FDA identifies a common upstream source: Medisca glutathione Lot #229536, labeled as dietary supplement grade and considered inappropriate by FDA for injectable-drug compounding. [1]
This makes the August 27 warning a broader ingredient-quality and supply-chain investigation rather than merely a third report about one pharmacy's finished product.
Important questions remain unresolved.
FDA does not identify every compounding pharmacy involved in the at-least-30 patient reports.
The agency does not state how many patients were linked to each pharmacy, how many of the reports overlap with patients already described in the Victory Medical Center or Optimal Balance recalls, or how many total patients received products compounded from Medisca Lot #229536.
FDA also does not provide an exposure denominator, so the at least 30 reports cannot be converted into an incidence rate.
The public August 27 alert does not establish endotoxin as the proven cause of every individual reaction, does not state that every IV product prepared from the ingredient lot contained the same endotoxin concentration, and does not report a death in the current patient group.
Most importantly, the investigation is not closed.
FDA states that it continues to receive adverse-event reports consistent with endotoxin exposure and is actively investigating, with additional updates expected as more information becomes available. [1]
FDA's August 27 warning represents a meaningful escalation in the compounded-glutathione safety investigation.
At least 30 patients have been included in adverse-event reports following administration of compounded IV glutathione, with reported manifestations including fever, chills, pain, dizziness, signs of shock, sepsis-like symptoms, and hospitalization in some cases. FDA says the symptoms are consistent with excessive endotoxin exposure. [1]
The new development is the supply-chain connection: different compounding pharmacies obtained their glutathione from Medisca Lot #229536, an ingredient labeled as dietary supplement grade that FDA says was not appropriate for injectable-drug compounding.
That does not establish that glutathione itself is broadly toxic, that all compounded glutathione is unsafe, or that every reported reaction has been definitively proven to result from endotoxin.
It does establish a significant injectable-quality and ingredient-sourcing concern that has already preceded two pharmacy recalls and remains under active FDA investigation.
1. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. (2026, August 27). FDA reminds compounders not to use dietary supplement grade glutathione for injectables.
2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. (2026, August 5). Victory Medical Center Pharmacy Issues Voluntary Nationwide Recall of Certain Lots of Compounded Glutathione 200 mg/mL Multi-Dose Vials Due to Elevated Endotoxin Levels.
3. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. (2026, August 20). Optimal Balance Pharmacy Issues Voluntary Nationwide Recall of Certain Lots of Compounded Glutathione 200 mg/mL Multi-Dose Vials Due to Elevated Endotoxin Levels.
4. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. (2019, June 7). FDA highlights concerns with using dietary ingredient glutathione to compound sterile injectables.
Keep reading