FDA Posts Recall of 22 Argatroban Lots Over Particles
post on 17 Oct 2026
post on 17 Oct 2026
https://medicaltoxic.com/news/argatroban-recall-particulate-matter

FDA Posts Recall of 22 Argatroban Lots Over Particles
Par Health recalled 22 Argatroban Injection lots after multiple foreign materials were detected, including cellulose, plastics, stopper material and possible stainless steel.
Par Health USA is recalling 22 lots of Argatroban Injection 250 mg/2.5 mL (100 mg/mL) after particulate matter was detected in certain lots of the injectable anticoagulant.
The company announced the recall October 13, and FDA published the notice October 14. The action reaches the hospital/user level. [1] U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Testing identified particulate material described as:
cellulose;
polystyrene;
polyethylene terephthalate;
stopper material; and
possibly stainless steel.
Par Health reported no adverse events related to the recall at the time of the announcement. [1] U.S. Food and Drug Administration
The recall involves Argatroban Injection 250 mg/2.5 mL (100 mg/mL) distributed under two NDCs.
NDC | Lot | Expiration |
|---|---|---|
42023-182-01 | 83449 | 10/2026 |
82682 | 11/2026 | |
86714 | 02/2027 | |
87302 | 02/2027 | |
87560 | 02/2027 | |
87753 | 03/2027 | |
88401 | 03/2027 | |
88614 | 04/2027 | |
88836 | 04/2027 | |
90220 | 05/2027 | |
91216 | 06/2027 | |
91219 | 06/2027 | |
92004 | 07/2027 | |
92006 | 07/2027 | |
92009 | 08/2027 | |
92596 | 08/2027 | |
92782 | 08/2027 | |
93107 | 08/2027 | |
93329 | 08/2027 | |
93890 | 09/2027 | |
42023-182-89 | 84193 | 10/2026 |
92880 | 08/2027 |
FDA's posted announcement confirms all 22 affected lot/expiration combinations. [1] U.S. Food and Drug Administration
The lots were distributed nationwide to wholesalers and hospitals between December 30, 2024 and May 5, 2026. [1] U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Argatroban is a direct thrombin inhibitor used for prophylaxis or treatment of thrombosis in adults with heparin-induced thrombocytopenia and for anticoagulation in patients with or at risk for HIT undergoing percutaneous coronary intervention. [1,2] U.S. Food and Drug Administration
The recalled 250 mg/2.5 mL formulation is intended for intravenous use after dilution. [2] DailyMed
The toxicologic concern in this recall is therefore not unexpected argatroban pharmacology. It is the possibility that foreign physical material could enter the vascular system with an injectable product.
The FDA-posted risk statement says administration of affected product containing particulate matter has a reasonable probability of potentially life-threatening consequences including:
pulmonary emboli;
occlusion of other blood vessels;
tissue death or possible organ injury from vascular obstruction; and
inflammation of venous walls that may lead to clotting. [1] U.S. Food and Drug Administration
These are potential consequences described in the recall risk assessment.
They are not reported patient outcomes from this recall.
Par Health stated that it had received no reports of adverse events related to the recall when the announcement was issued. [1] U.S. Food and Drug Administration
That distinction matters.
The recall confirms particulate contamination in certain lots and describes serious consequences that could occur if contaminated product were administered.
It does not establish that a patient developed pulmonary embolism, organ injury, phlebitis or another complication because of these recalled lots.
The notice also does not provide an incidence rate or an exposure denominator.
Par Health is sending written notifications to wholesale and hospital accounts that received affected product and arranging return of existing inventory through Inmar.
FDA's posted instructions state that wholesale distributors and hospital pharmacies should immediately discontinue use and stop distribution of recalled product. Facilities that distributed the product further should notify downstream accounts or additional locations that may have received it. [1] U.S. Food and Drug Administration
For medication-safety teams, the actionable identifiers are therefore:
Argatroban Injection 250 mg/2.5 mL (100 mg/mL)
NDC 42023-182-01 or 42023-182-89
one of the 22 affected lots listed above
This is an inventory-removal action, not a new argatroban treatment guideline.
MedicalToxic has recently covered several other injectable-product quality failures involving particulate matter, container integrity or sterility.
The broader pattern is summarized in FDA Toxicology Update: Injectafer Boxed Warning and DNP Recall, which includes recent particulate recalls involving dexmedetomidine, sodium chloride and other injectable products.
Argatroban is worth a dedicated News owner because the current action involves 22 separate lots of a hospital anticoagulant, two NDCs and a wide distribution window.
It should not, however, be interpreted as evidence that injectable contamination is increasing nationally. A cluster of recalls does not provide a denominator or incidence trend.
The mechanism also differs from the ingredient-quality problem described in FDA Warns After Endotoxin-Consistent Reactions Reported in at Least 30 Patients Given Compounded IV Glutathione. That investigation concerns possible endotoxin exposure from inappropriate compounding material; the Argatroban recall concerns foreign particulate matter in a finished injectable product.
The new development is a 22-lot nationwide Argatroban recall with multiple identified particulate materials.
FDA's October 14 posting adds several clinically actionable details:
22 affected lots;
two NDCs;
hospital/user-level recall;
nationwide distribution from December 2024 through May 2026;
multiple identified foreign materials; and
immediate stop-use and stop-distribution instructions. [1] U.S. Food and Drug Administration
This is sufficiently specific to justify a dedicated Argatroban News page rather than being buried only in a general injectable-recall roundup.
The FDA-posted announcement does not state that every vial in every affected lot visibly contains particulate matter.
It also does not report the number of vials distributed, the number of patients who received product from the recalled lots or a rate of contamination.
The listed pulmonary and vascular complications are potential outcomes from intravascular particulate exposure, not documented outcomes among patients who received these lots.
FDA has also not classified this recall as Class I in the current public announcement, so this News should not assign a recall class unless FDA later publishes an official classification. U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Par Health's recall covers 22 lots of Argatroban Injection 250 mg/2.5 mL after detection of cellulose, polystyrene, polyethylene terephthalate, stopper material and possibly stainless steel.
The company reported no recall-related adverse events when the notice was issued. [1] U.S. Food and Drug Administration
For hospitals and pharmacies, the immediate priority is straightforward:
identify the affected NDCs and lots, discontinue use and distribution, and arrange return of recalled inventory.
For medical toxicology, the risk should remain precisely framed: this is a confirmed injectable-product particulate problem with potentially serious intravascular consequences—not evidence that those complications have already occurred.
1. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. (2026, October 14).
Par Health Issues Voluntary Nationwide Recall of Argatroban Injection Due to the Presence of Particulate Matter.
2. National Library of Medicine. DailyMed.
Argatroban Injection — Prescribing Information.
Keep reading